Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

The Zebra soma, flavescens
2008-09-15 ~ 11:59 p.m.

Why helloooooo, Diaryland! It is I, Vicki the Ever so Entertaining, here to...um...entertain you again with the wit, wonder and whimsy that is me. That is me? That is I? Me? I? Aie aie aie!!!

Let's get the preliminaries over with, shall we? Dinner tonight, although very good, was nothing extraordinary. Meatloaf, blue cheese mashed potatoes, and corn. Tonights beer was from...um.....Green Flash? Green Hop? Oh I can't remember the name of the brewery but the beer is called Le Freak and here is the Beer Advocate review. It's quite hoppy.

Last weekend, I picked the kids up from Dave's and I told them we were going to Wegman's. Melissa said, "Okay, when we're done, I need you to take me somewhere." I said, "Okay, where?" She said, "I don't want to tell you."

...
...
...

Ummmm.....child? Until you start driving (a milestone which is approaching way too quickly), if you want me to take you somewhere, you kinda need to tell me where.

So I finally get out of her that she wants me to take her to Aquarium Depot and it clicks that she wants to get an anniversary present for Jack and I. Well, mostly for Jack. He is the big tine fish geek. I am just along for the ride.

So we end up going to Exotic Aquatics (because Aquarium Depot is for nerds) and Melissa and Ben and Susie pool their money and get a yellow tang for Jack (and I). The yellow tang (zebra soma, flavescens) is Jack's favorite fish.

So I get this fish home and then I have to call James because I needed to find out how to acclimate this fish to our tank because Lord knows the last thing I want to do with this wonderful gift from the children is kill it before Jack even gets home from work.

So with James' help (and only a moderate amount of chiding) I'm able to get this beautiful fish into our tank and she's very happy and we name her Bumble because she's as yellow as a bumble bee and the kids all try to stay up late so that they can wait for Jack to get home so they can suprise him with his gift and they wonder whether he'll even notice the new fish in his tank and I assure them that oh yes, he'll notice within ten seconds of walking in the door so it's getting later and later and the kids are waiting and waiting but the kitchen doesn't close until 11pm so by the time Jack gets home it's after 1am and everyone but Melissa (and me) is asleep.

And Jack walks in the door and looks in his tank and says, "Hey, there's a yellow tang in my tank" and he collapses into the chair and I say "Yes, it's an anniversary gift from the children" and he is speechless and just staring with his mouth agape and finally all he can say is "Thank you. Thank you so much. That's my favorite fish. Thank you so much."

Which reaction Meliisa gleefully imitated for Ben and Melissa endlessly the next day.

And that is all.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo