Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Item Number Two
2007-04-28 ~ 4:02 p.m.

(third entry today)

(heh heh....I said number two)

(HALP! Parenthesis have taken over my entry!)

(stop that, it's TOO silly)

(alrighty then!)

2) Ruminations of registry ettiquite
a) how the fuck do you spell ettiquite? I should learn how to spell this without spell check
b) My mom's opinion
c) HIS mom's opinion

Before I say anything else, let me first state this is entry is NOT a shameless attempt to exploit wedding gifts from my loyal followers readers. Please do NOT immediately go to any of the links I am providing and purchase gifts. Please wait a respectable 48 hours. Heh. (I'm KIDDING!!!)

Right then.

So Jack and I registered quite a number of months ago at Target. Woo! Except really? What we NEED? Is help with the honeymoon expenses. Jack said not to worry about it, that his family is notorious for doling out teh cash as gifts but still, I just can't see waiting until my wedding night to find out whether we can afford the honeymoon.

So I'd been hearing about these honeymoon registries. The bridal magazines and other wedding related sources seemed to be in agreement that there's nothing wrong with registering for your honeymoon. But then again, they're funded by various wedding retailers and vendors so are they actually impartial arbiters and stuff?

So I went and looked into it a little bit and mentioned it in passing to Jack's mother to see what she thought. She didn't gasp in shock and horror so I went ahead and registered and I sent the link out to both my mother and his to get their opinions. My mom thought it was horrifically tacky but Jack's mom thought it was a neat idea, and she's going to forward the link to her family.

Now, that's all well and good but still, because of my mom's reaction, I'm feeling like maybe I am doing something completely classless. And you all know, I am nothing if not Vicki the Picture of Taste and Refinement. So what do you guys think?

Also? ETIQUETTE!!! A-HA!

ETA a snippet from an email I sent to Tia about this:

I know we can�t put registry information on the invites or go around telling people that we�re registered at such and such place. But, assuming one feels that registries as a whole are acceptable (and I know there are those that do not), is a honeymoon registry any different? Instead of registering for china and a blender and a coffee maker, we�re registering for a steak dinner and a couples massage and breakfast in bed. That sort of thing. We�re not asking for envelopes of cash. Although yes, in essence, what we'd be receiving is cash.

I�ve spent some time reading different opinions online today and yes, they�re quite varied. But it seems for the most part that people who disapprove of honeymoon registries disapprove of all registries in general.

I don�t know. After reading everything over, I think I�m going to let it stand where it is. Meaning Mary Ann already has the information and knows her family best. If she wants to spread the word to them, I�ll let her do so. Otherwise, I�ll stick with the more traditional Target registry.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo