Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Item number one
2007-04-28 ~ 12:13 p.m.

(second entry today!)

1) Our first real fight. Awwww.
a) genesis
b) the fight itself
c) conclusion

So my friend Christine's birthday was last Saturday. Debbie and I totally forgot so we decided to take her out to dinner to make it up to her.

So I told Jack Monday night that after work we were going out and I wouldn't be home until late-ish. Probably around 10pm. He was supposed to help his friend Wayne move so I told him to have himself a good time.

But then Debbie had to cancel because she wasn't feeling well so I was kinda weighing my options. I could just go home or I could go get a pedicure, since I told Jack he could be out anyway.

But then he called me. I missed his call because I was on the phone with a customer but I called him back about forty minutes later.

He was clearly at the bar, having a raucous good time. I asked whether they were all done helping Wayne with his move and...well, I didn't like the way he responded. Basically he said something like, "Oh yeah, we're hard at work RIGHT NOW. Yep, Mike and Wayne and I are working really hard." It was obvious that for some reason, his friends were giving him a hard time about his woman checking up on him or something (Wayne and his brother Mike are both coming out of relationships so they're a bit anti-girl right now....they're still hella cool, but still, they sometimes give Jack a hard time about being tied down)and he was being rather flippant with his responses and just wasn't listening to me.

I told him dinner plans were cancelled and I said, "How about I pick us up something for dinner and I'll be home around 9-ish, maybe a bit before?" He seemed okay with that and I went on to try to impart other important information regarding our plans for Thursday but he was just talking over me, showing off for his boys and then he hung up.

HE HUNG UP ON ME??? OH NO HE DI'INT!

So I called him back and said something like, "I need you to listen to me so you know what the plan is on Thursday."

So we got that taken care of but I was just annoyed by his 'tude. Like I said, I know it was a show of bravado for the guys but it didn't set well with me. He wasn't disrespectful or anything, he was just joking around and not listening to what I was saying.

So I was cranky. But I went ahead and ordered dinner from Famous Dave's because I had a hankering for BBQ. So, you know, not a cheap dinner or anything. Not like I was just grabbing a pizza.

So as I left the restaurant I called him to let him know I'd be home in about half an hour. So if he was still at the bar, he would know to get his broke ass home. No wait. Stop that.

Anyway, he needed to know to go home to meet me for dinner.

So I called and he said, "Wayne and Mike and I are having dinner now."

I snapped at him, "Were you not LISTENING when I said I was picking up dinner?"

He said, "I was listening. I said I'm having dinner now, I didn't say I wouldn't be hungry later."

I said, "So why did I just spend $36 on dinner?"

He said something like "We'll finish up here and I'll be home as soon as I can." AND HE HUNG UP ON ME AGAIN!!!

ARGHHHHH!!!!

So I was steamed. He called back about five minutes later, a bit apologetic. He said, "Don't be angry with me." I couldn't tell him I wasn't angry so I just responded, "I love you," and he said he'd be home as soon as he could.

So I continued driving home and then I got home and I ate my dinner and the whole time I was thinking and getting less angry because c'mon, I did tell him I wouldn't be home until late and didn't let him know of the change in plans until after 6pm and I know he'd had a few beers so wasn't exercising the best judgment in his communication with me so I was feeling a bit concllatory so I called him to let him know I wasn't angry but when I talked to him his tone set me off again, I can't put my finger on why, I guess I just thought he wasn't taking me seriously.

So when he got home I was on the computer and he came in and took off his shoes and sat on the sofa and we exchanged a few simple sentences and then he asked whether I was mad at him.

And I said, "I'm a little pissed off, yeah," and I went over and sat with him on the sofa and I explained why I was upset and he apologized and said he never meant to hurt my feelings and we talked a bit and I explained to him that sometimes when he drinks he makes some bad decisions and he needs to learn to recognize that line that you get to just before you have that one drink too many and he needs to learn to not cross that line, to stay on the happy side of inebriation and not the stoopid side and it ended up all being okay and then we had make up sex.

Uh-huh.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo