Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Life as a bartender
2007-04-17 ~ 10:20 a.m.

So Sunday night I was working at the bar. In comes this guy that I�ve seen a time or two before. He�s one of the Snoutmackers but not a regular like some of them. But he was with two girls and one of them is best friends with one of my nightly regulars.

Anyway, so I do the whole bartender thing and start getting their drinks and I get the two girls situated and try to figure out what he wants. Because he never knows, it�s always something different. So we�re talking and he shows me how to make this one drink and he wants me to do one with him so I do. This is not an unusual request, I usually end up doing 3-4 shots a night (YES, I LOVE that job!!)

So we do our shot and I wander off to do more bartender things and then a few minutes later he calls me over because he doesn�t have a drink. See, we did the shot but there was no drink drink, you know what I mean? No beer, no cocktail.

So we�re bantering a bit and then his friend says, "He�s totally flirting with you."

What? OH! Yeah, I guess he was. She goes on to say that I�m the whole reason we�re there, that he had said, "Hey, let�s go see the bartender at the Montford". And so on.

And I�m all, "Ummm...". I mean, I was flattered and stuff but, hello, engaged! Plus, I was surrounded by Jack�s friends.

So Val (the best friend of the one girl I mentioned earlier) said, "She�s getting married on September 1st" and Stephen (flirty guy) is momentarily stopped but then he says, "Ah, but she�s not married yet"

And I guess something about that exchange opened the floodgates or something because he went from being mildly flirty to full on hitting on me. He was trying to get me to do a body shot off of him and despite me telling him repeatedly NO he eventually climbed up onto the bar, pulled up his shirt and poured a shot into his navel.

OY!

I said to his friends, "PLEASE make him understand that I am NOT doing this." Finally one of the other girls slurped it up. And they left shortly thereafter

So. I knew I had to tell Jack about this, not because I did anything wrong but because I knew he�d hear about it from other sources anyway and by NOT saying anything it would look like I HAD done something.

He was cool with it Sunday night but then last night he got really pissed off about it, about how he wasn�t going to let anyone get away with disrespecting his wife. I talked him down but still. Luckily, Jack doesn�t know the guy so as long as they�re not introduced as "Hey, Jack, that�s the guy that laid himself out on your wife�s bar" everything should be cool. Eek.

I told him though, if/when he gets this floor manager job I�m going to quit the bar. Just not safe.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo