Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Random shizzle
2007-03-24 ~ 12:19 p.m.

That's right, I said shizzle. What'cha gon' do 'bout it? You tryin' to step ta this?

Hee! "Step to this" is my new phrase. See, Jack and I had our friend Jacque over for dinner Wednesday night.

Oh, and let me just stop to state that no, it has not escaped my attention that I have friends named Jacki, Jackie and Jacque and a fiance named Jack. Kinda strange, I know.

Anyway. Jack and Jacque have known each other for years. She was one of his first friends when he moved to the city. Me, I'm not really a city girl yet. Give me time.

So Jack was relating this story and said something about how a friend of his stepped to him. Jacque said, "He stepped to you? In your own house?" And Jack said, "Yeah, and I told him, 'Are you stepping to me? In my house you're stepping to me?"

I had to say, "Wait, time out. What is this "step to" of which you speak."

So I got a live action demonstation by Jacque stepping right up close to me, putting her face in mine and making some challenging statement which I don't remember but good gravy (!) was that intimidating.

So that's my new phrase. What, you don't like it? You tryin' to step to me?

Hee!

So I've been practicing. I have these visions of me and Jack at the altar, pastor asking whether there were any objections and me all, "What do you mean objections? You trying to step to this?"

Mm-hm.

On the subject of weddings. My dickhead of an ex-husband called me last night, said, "Are you sure you're ready for ex-husband number three?"

I said, "What the fuck is that supposed to mean?" I think he thought he was making a joke but it wasn't funny.

(Okay, dickhead is kinda harsh, Dave isn't actually pretty cool and he and Jack get along well, I was just expressing my displeasure at his inquiry.)

Here. More wedding stuff. Mom and I selected the pattern and fabric for the dresses that my girls are going to wear for the wedding. Lissa will be in a mid tone blue and Susie will be in lilac.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Ack. I feel like I have so much to write about, so many stories to tell, but then they're all gone from my head by the time I get to the little white box.

A few weeks ago, I took the kids roller skating. Yes, I know, very unwise given my klutzoid status. But we went and Ben and Lissa had roller blades and Susie and I got regular skates because she's too young and I'm too uncool for blades. Ben and Liss went zip zip zip around the rink but Susie doesn't have those skillz so she clung to the wall and fell about every three feet.

At one point she fell and I was behind her but not able to stop in time. I tried lifting one foot off the ground so I could avoid skating over her little fingers but....well....Vicki on wheels is bad enough. Vicki on wheels with one foot in the air in a recipe for disaster. So I fell and on the way down managed to kick her in the face with my skate. Somehow, she emerged unscather

Anyway, as the evening wore on she got a little better. Not great mind you, but good enough that I could take her hand and skate around with her and she could maintain her balance even though she was away from the wall.

At one point, they did the whole Ladies Skate thing and the boys lined up against the wall with their arms out so the girls could slap palms with them as they skaked by.

Susie the Boy Crazy LOVED this. LOVE! She giggled her a** off each time.

So a few weeks later, I took them skating again. This time, Susie held onto the wall and just propelled hersef along, zip zip zip. Lissa chided her that she's supposed to move forward by moving her FEET, not by pulling herself along by her hands, but whatev, Susie was happy. (BTW - that Lissa of mine? Little showoff. She can skate backwards AND spin) But then, after about two minutes, her little face crumpled and she started to cry.

"Susie, what's wrong?" I asked. She gestured over to the side of the rink and wailed, "Where are the boys?!?!?!?"

Oy.

And then Ben. My nutso litle Ben. Those of you coming to the wedding will finally get a chance to meet him and see what I mean. Words can not describe what a bundle of energy that boy is. You can practically SEE him vibrating.

So anyway, he skates like he lives his life. Full tilt, gonzo, out of control. I was watching him and he would skate, full speed, from one end of the rink, straight through the center, arms waving wilding the whoel time, going as fast as he could, with the EXPRESS PURPOSE of crashing straight on into the wall on the opposite side of the rink. Boy has a future in extreme sportz.

I had to chide him even though he cracked me up.

Finally I start to gather them up to go. Susie cries because still, no boy line up. I let her pull herself around the rink one more time while Ben and Lissa and I get our shoes on. I stand up to go check and her and there she is, in the middle of the rink, skating ALL ON HER OWN without holding onto anything. I SQUEE'd, I really did and called Melissa over to observe. And you could see how proud Susie was of herself. She was beaming.

Last but not least, I'll leave you with this cuteness. See, I've been dispairing of ever having a cat again because Jack is allergic but the other day he mentioned that he once had a Norwegian Forest Cat and that cat never bothered his allergies. So we decided we're going to get one of them. Look at this pic I found. Awwwww.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo