Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

It's all good
2006-03-18 ~ 1:00 p.m.

There are some changes afoot in the life of Vicki.

It's been, what, a little over six months since Bobby and I split? And I've been doing a lot of dating, having a lot of fun. It hasn't all been good times, of course, there's been some drama, some tears, but no actual heartbreak, nothing serious, you know? Just me enjoying being single for a change.

But the whole dating/obsessing over boys thing has started to become a bit much. I don't WANT anything serious right now (at least, I'm not looking although I won't turn my back on the right guy if he shows up) but I've been GETTING too serious, if that makes any sense.

So I'm stepping off for a while. I'm still talking to James and maybe things will develop more there at some point, when the time is right. And Chandler and I are still hanging out and I'll admit, we're not entirely done with each other. Not that we'll ever be anything more than we are now but there's still that spark, that chemistry and I do at least believe that the ex really is an ex. So we may end up hooking up again.

But I'm not taking any of this seriously.

I'm getting back to my passions. Good books (and writing), good music, good food. And good health, which isn't really a passion, but it is a necessity


Good books: My library account has been suspended for months which has pretty much stopped me from reading. Because with few exceptions, I don't buy books. So I've been reading magazines mostly.

But I had to go into the library yesterday to pick up a Rec and Parks brochure (more details below) and while I was there, on a whim, I decided to talk to the librarian about what I needed to do to use my account again. Because see, last year, July I think, I borrowed a book from the library and gave it to Bobby to read. This was when he was staying at the hotel in Pennsylvania for a job he was doing. He ended up being booted off of that job and leaving the book behind. I asked repeatedly for him to get it back to me but he never did. So I owe the library to replace the book. Also, I checked out a book for Susie that she lost.

But I talked to the librarian and told her what happened and she said she would put a search on those books. Yes, even though I TOLD her that I knew they hadn't been returned, she told me that if she did that, it would give me six more months to find the books and/or come up with the fees ($45, which isn't much but times are tight right now, also to be discussed below). So my library account is reactivated, yay!! And I just spent about two hours this morning rebuilding my reserve list. Which I use in the same way I would use my Netflix queue.

Also, good writing: I want to join a writers group or workshop or something but have no idea how to find one. Anyone in the Baltimore area who knows of any resources, please hit me up. Looking for some sort of humor writing type thing. I have no interest in fiction.

Good music - and this ties into good health: I love music and I love to dance. Debbie and I have decided to take a hip hop dance class. I'm also signing up for an aerobics class for two nights a week. (This is why I needed to get that Rec and Parks brochure) That means three nights total and rhythmic movement to music which is good for both my physical and mental well being. Because there isn't a lot that makes me happier than good high energy music.

Debbie and I are also going to start broadening our horizons vis a vis the clubs we go to. We've both been getting sick of Nott's and we had actually planned on going somewhere else last night but she changed her mind and said she just wanted to stay local so whatev, I went along with it.

But Nott's SUCKED last night. And I recalled that the last time we went by ourselves (not including the time we went with Chandler) is was sucky too. Because the menfolk were being jerks.

Last night we were on the dance floor waiting for the band to start and Debbie noticed a guy standing a little behind us. She said, "What do you think of him, he's your type, isn't he?" And I looked over and agreed. Tall, slender, geeky, yep, right up my alley. She was pretty proud of herself that she was able to tell.

So maybe ten minutes later, this guy's friend bumps into Debbie so he (the guy, not the friend) leans over to me to apologize for his friend and we start talking. His name is Ryan, his friend is Josh. At first they seem okay but as the night goes on, they just get more and more asshole-ish. Josh says to Debbie, "So, am I going home with you tonight?" and she says "NO! I don't go home with guys I meet in the bar!" At this point, Ryan still seems okay with me. We were talking, there was a little bit of touchy-feelyness, but nothing to be offended over. He'd grab my hand if I was gesticulating wildly (which I tend to do) or he'd put his arm around my shoulder to bring me closer to tell me something (since it was so loud) and yeah, he did kinda sorta brush my butt but that didn't really ring any alarm bells, it wasn't like a grope or anything.

And then Ryan went to get us drinks and he asked what I was drinking and I said, "Just a Diet Coke" and then Josh came over and asked whether I was taking "that boy" home with me and I said, "No, I don't do one night stands" and he wandered off and then Ryan came back with drinks. And I took one sip. It was NOT Diet Coke. It wasn't even a rum and Coke. It was a DOUBLE rum and Coke.

THAT'S when alarm bells started going off. SON OF A BITCH!

And then he was all up on me dancing and he kept trying to slide his hand under my shirt and finally I'd had enough and I said, "Deb, I'm going to the ladies, come with" and we got to the ladies room and I just started ranting and Debbie came up with the best line, "He's not even cute enough to be such an asshole" so we decided to just leave.

Gah! And this isn't the first time we've had to deal with creepzoids there. Pretty much, unless we have at least one man with us, we're not going back. Unless the band is a good one.

Okay, rant over.

Good food: I'm still doing Weight Watchers. In theory. I really haven't lost in the past few months. I haven't gained either and I think I look pretty good but I can do a lot better. I can still stand to lose AT LEAST 30 pounds.

So I've decided to make every bite I put in my mouth count. I'm not going to eat junk food just for the sake of eating. Yes, I will still allow myself good food (witness my rapture over the nuts from my last entry) but I'm really going to try to durndest to stick with high quality, high taste impact products. Example. I do have a bag of potato chips sitting next to me. But they're some sort of gourmet chip I picked up (gourmet being a relative term, I did get them from Target after all). Waffle Cut Au Gratin Potato Crisps. And I'm eating them sloooooowly. One at a time. Savoring not just the taste but the texture. I think I've eaten six since starting this entry. Half an hour ago.

Other things I will allow myself

  • blue cheese stuffed olives (sorry Krumpet)

  • Them nuts

  • Spare ribs

  • Goat cheese

Things I will not allow (under normal day to day circumstances)

  • Fast food

  • Pizza

  • Wings

  • Peanut butter and jelly sammiches

  • Bread and butter (unless it's Hawaiian bread

And then, one last change I'm making, although it's not so much a positive change as a necessary one. I'm taking a part time job. For a little while, at least. So I can afford things. Like dance and aerobics classes. And a new, non stupid, computer. And good food. Because the foodstuffs I was talking about? Don't come cheap.

So with all that, the classes, the workshop (once I find one), the full time job (which I could rant about but I'll save that for later), the part time job, my kids and spending more time with my friends, I won't even have the TIME to obsess over boys.

And this is a VERY good thing.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo