Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Off to a great start
2006-03-06 ~ 9:07 a.m.

So, my first conversation of the day, on this, the first Monday of my new, gawdawful early schedule.

Me, to security guard Rick: Mornin' Rick
Rick, disgustingly cheerfully: Good morning! And how's Vic today?
Me: ::snarls:: It's morning, isn't it?
Rick, still cheerful: So far!
Me: My point exactly ::stomps up the stairs::

Yeah, so then I get in to find a chastising email from my boss, threatening to put me on "Job at Risk" status if I don't stop socializing at work. Okay, well, okay, he has a point. I do spend too much time either at Ann or Debbie's desk, or just wandering the halls, fine, he's right, OKAY! I just hate being called on the carpet, so to speak.

So I am now to stay at my desk at all times except for my scheduled breaks. Oh, and of course, I'm allowed potty breaks. But I guess walking to Oasis to refil my soda is right out, huh? Damn good thing I'm not a smoker.

GRRRR.

Also, annoyed (somewhat) with James. I need to have a chat with Ann so she talk me down from the ledge. Again. Because AGAIN a weekend has gone by without me seeing him. This has been going on for....well, ever since we started talking. And if it weren't for Ann, whose judgment I completely trust, I'd give up on him. Because it seems like either he's jerking me around or...ugh, here it comes....or he's just not that into me. But, it's always something, and often those somethings are backed up by articles in the press so it's not like I think he's telling me a story.

And if he were blowing me off? Then he wouldn't say the things he says to me in email and IM. The one thing I have to keep reminding myself is that men think differently than women.

Okay, so this is what happened this weekend. He emailed me Friday to ask what I was doing over the weekend. I ran through what my plans for the weekend were and said, "Why? Might we actually be able to do something this weekend?" He said that the good news was that he actually had some free time but the bad news was that it had already been filled. Friday night he had a birthday dinner with him mom, then one of his best friends was flying in from California and they were going out. And then Saturday he had a bachelor party for another good friend but that if (and that's a big if, he said) he was able to move and function on Sunday we could do something.

I suggest that if not Sunday, maybe Tuesday since I get off work earlier now. "Tuesday might work," he says

So Friday night he goes out, gets home around 2am and we talked for a while. Saturday around noon we IM briefly. He is quite hungover it seems. He says his head is killing him. He runs out to do errands, I go see the kids, that's the last I heard from him. All weekend.

Now, I had specifically asked him that if Sunday came around and he didn't feel like doing anything to at least let me know. I specifically said, "Don't leave me hanging." But this was before I suggested Tuesday.

So now I need to think like a boy. HE probably thought I meant, "Never mind about Sunday, let's plan for Tuesday instead." And also? I think he's even less of a phone person than I am. I hate talking on the phone, as does he. I think he said it's third on his list of least favorite things to do.

But I'm still in a bit of a snit. So I'm not going to call or email him or NUTTIN' until HE gets back in touch with ME.

Boys. Phooey.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo