Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

It was a long and grueling battle
2006-02-24 ~ 1:20 p.m.

So--- you know, one of these days, I really am going to check to see how many entries I've written that begin with "So". I'm betting at least 20%. I do this conversationally as well. Drives Ann crazy, I'll walk over to her desk and just start talking as if we were in mid conversation.

Let me start over.

I've been with my current employer almost seven years. And I've moved at least 13 times during my tenure here. And each and every time I've moved, I've had to take down the glare guard on my monitor and reattach it to my new monitor.

And this attachment was done via the sticky velcro tabs on the back of said guard. Anyway, about three moves ago, the sticky finally gave out. I TRIED to get the comapany to simply provide me with a NEW glare guard but apparently they weren't doing that any longer.

HMPH.

So I reattached it with a glue stick.

Two moves ago, I pried it off my monitor and when I did so, I lost the sticky velcro tabs. (Yes, I know velcro should be capitalized but I'm too lazy to go back and correct it...but not too lazy to make this parenthetical aside. Because we all know I loves me some parenthetical asides.)(Shut UP, Smed, I've been here longer than you, they're MY parenthetical asides and YOU can't have them, nyah)

Um....where was I?

Right, so when I PRIED my glare guard off my three moves ago monitor I somehow lost the VELCRO tabs. Not a big deal, I thought. And indeed, it didn't seem to be, I was able to successfully glue it to my last monitor without too much difficulty.

Which brings me to this desk. By the time I moved in here, I was out of glue stick. In desperation, I made about twenty loops worth of scotch tape (should that also be capitalized?) and stuck it up. That worked until last weekend when Facilities came by and TOOK DOWN OUR WALLS!!! (Oh, sorry, I'm still a little bitter about that). Whatever they did, they managed to knock the glare guard off. I stuck it back up but all week, it's been slipping. And I just didn't FEEL like making more tape loopys.

So I finally get a new glue stick and I try to glue the durned thing back up and....and....it didn't work. Apparently, the raised surface of the velcro...er, I mean Velcro tabs made a difference. (Again, no idea why it worked on my last monitor, maybe it was bumpy?)

I thought, maybe if I can somehow clamp the guard to the monitor while the glue dries? So I employed a few rubber bands.

000_1050

While struggling to stretch these rubber bands around the monitor and NOT get snapped, I muttered, "These kinds of things never happen to MacGuyver" which prompted coworker Shun to look over at my desk and say, "Now that looks awfully McGhetto."

Best. Line. Ever. (Or at least, line of the day)

Anyway, the rubber bands worked. For a while. And after gazing in smug satisfaction for a while, I resumed taking calls.

And that's when, SNAP!! SNAP!! They started snapping off and zinging all over everywhere.

Curses!

Okay, so try to reapproximate the raised surface of the Velcro tabs. With paper toweling. I was completely unsuccessful but I DID end up with glue ALL OVER my hands and fingers.

So I finally surrendered that particular battle.

But this morning, I won the war. Because I? Knew where to find MORE Velcro tabs. HA!! Take that!

Victory is mine. At least until the next move.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo