Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

This is my life
2006-02-16 ~ 17:37

We have an ice problem here. And this has been going on for years. See, I work on the second floor. Which, traditionally was where all the muckety mucks worked. And our cafeteria, which is also on the second floor, used to be open until 7pm. So, no need for icemakers on the second floor because by the time Oasis closed, everyone up here was gone for the day.

But, in recent years, they've been moving more of us peons up here to the second and the cafeteria has been closing at 4pm. So we have a staff that's here until 11pm (in some cases) and NO ICE. There IS a refrigerator with an ice maker but it's never working.

Now I am not one to complain (SHUT UP!!!) Instead, I have turned this aggravating as hell negative into a positive and I take advantage of this opportunity to run up and down the stairs so I can get ice from one of the many many icemachines downstairs.

Now the stairwells are secure so you have to badge in to get to the second floor. So I always keep my badge with me. My badge is on one of those lanyard thingys, not because it actually wear it around my neck (oh no, that would be too dorky for word)(SHUT UP!!), but because it makes it easier for me to find it in my purse.

So I'm walking towards the stairs and I have the cord that my badge is attached to loosely wrapped around my hand with the badge itself and a small loop of cord hanging free. And I reach to open the door and I step through it and SOMEHOW, I have NO idea how, that little loop wraps itself around the door handle and I step through the door and it closes behind me and somehow I am on one side of the door and my badge is hanging around the door handle on the other side.

Of course, the cord is still wrapped around my fingers. But I can't get back through the door because I CAN'T BADGE THROUGH!!!

Of course, all's well that ends well, I stomp downstairs, make my way over to the elevator, ride upstairs, stomp back to the stairwell and retrieve my badge.

Oy.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo