Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Smed Says Here's To You, Vicki
February 04, 2006 ~ 2:01 p.m.

I was asked by the divine Ms. Vicki to pen a guest entry, and since she�s the reason I�m here, I said, �Why not?�

Why not indeed!

Hello, I�m Smed, purveyor of Smed�s Corner, one of the finest (ok, one of the) sites on this here internet where you can read about this, that, and t�other thing. I write long, I write often and many times I try to be funny. Try being the operative word.

Anyway, I started my thing in May of this year, because I had a couple of long form essays that I wrote just laying around and I decided it would be good to try and post them somewhere. So I started my little corner of the world, and for May, June and July it was basically a place for me to write and some of my friends and family to read, point and stare.

Along the way I used some banner ads, but really, I was rather insular. It was all about me and my writing.

Then, I posted an essay on Crunchberries around the first of August. I also had a banner ad up at that time.

One day, I was checking my email, and, lo and behold, Vicki commented.

Wow! I had had a couple of outside commentators before but 95% of the people who commented knew me.

Then I started to explore. I read her site, and started clicking on her links. I went to my profile. I had never noticed that people had added me (there were four, I think, including Vicki) and I was intrigued. People like my stuff. Wow!

So I got busy. Using Vicki�s buddies as a start, and then branching out, I started reading and adding more and more people. The kind people reciprocated, too, and soon more and more people were reading my world. I added some more banners, and even more people started reading me.

Now, I have over 90 people who have buddied me (which of course means that I can�t totally reciprocate, dang it, but they are all loved) and I�m grateful for them.

But I�m most grateful for Vicki, and her love of Crunchberries.

She�s been fun to email, fun to parry back and forth on comments, and just fun to be around since this whole thing of ours exploded.

In fact, the little timeline below is for my visit to Balmer for CHAAAADing and mayhem, in conjunction with a conference that I must attend. Hopefully others can come and join the fun.

So Vicki, while you are out right now, I hope you are safe and I hope you get through this. I know you will. Because we need you back here, making us all a little more sane (or insane, your mileage may vary � consult your dealer for specifications).

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo