Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

My weekend, in no particular order
2005-12-04 ~ 6:09 p.m.

Saturday was spectacular. Krumpet and I hung out, along with Krumpet's friend John, who was there for a play date with his son and Krumpet's daughter. Good times were had.

Today has been a fairly sucktastic day. I spent the morning with the kids and although I always love spending time with them, I was irritable and distracted so I really wasn't able to enjoy them the way I should have. Sucks.

I spent the day vacillating between being ticked off at Chandler and worried about him. Because see, we had discussed doing something today. Nothing firm, but still, I thought tentative plans had been made. But as the day progressed and I didn't hear anything from him, well, I got a bit PO'd. I don't expect girlfriend treatment, but I do expect common courtesy.

So I was peeved. And I texted him. Although I don't think my text betrayed my peevedness, thankfully. Anyway, several hours, no response, I try calling. No answer. I didn't bother leaving a message.

And this is where worry started kicking in. Because, even though I've only known him a month, I don't think he's the kind of guy to just completely brush someone off like that. And I'm pretty durned sure he was drinking last night. (Oh gosh, the way that sounds makes it sound like he has a drinking problem. I'm not trying to imply that at all. I just know he and a buddy of his were getting together to watch thier college football team in a big match...which they lost, sadly.) So I started envisioning him in some sort of drunken calamity.

So I left a voice mail, pretty much summing up the above.

But now I've gotten out of the worry stage. Because, in the short time I've known him, he's flaked out on his cell phone (leaving it behind) at least twice. So I'm going with that because the other two options (something dreadful happening to him or a loved one or him completely blowing me off) don't bear thinking about.

[Monday morning edit: Okay, he just called. He's sick. He slept all day yesterday. Pretty much the first words out of his mouth were, "I'm so sorry about this weekend." And yeah, he sounds like he's really sick. Not like he's using one of those "call in sick to work" voices. See, I KNEW he wasn't blowing me off.]

So, let's talk about Friday. Because Friday was fun.

Debbie and I went to Nottingham's. The band was Fools and Horses. They were pretty cool. I was crushing on the bassist. Yum.

So, a bit of background, Debbie has been seeing this guy Chris. Nothing serious, very much like where Chandler and I are now. No exclusivity involved.

Anyway, Chris wasn't there Friday night. So Debbie and I were dancing and dancing and then she was gone. I was worried about her but Sri Lankan Guy (who has been there every time we've been there and he's kind of glommed onto us now) said he saw her in the back of the bar with another guy. So okay, I know she's still around.

So then, around midnight, Chris shows up. He asks if I've seen Debbie and I tell her she's around somewhere. He says if I see her, to tell her he's outside talking to the bouncer. So I find Debbie and tell her and she leaves Kevin (the guy she'd been talking to) and says to me, "I'm in trouble" because she really likes Kevin. So she goes outside to get Chris and they stand by the side of the dance floor talking and then Debbie says to me, gesturing to the bassist, "Should I tell Chris you like that guy?" Um? I don't really care. I mean, yeah, I have a long history of crushing on musicians but I've never been interested in hooking up with one. But whatever.

So the band finishes their set and Chris goes up to him (name is Kent, by the way) and introduces us and we talk for a bit and yeah, he's cute but c'mon, he's 23 and besides, band guys are for crushing on and gazing at in rapt adoration, not for talking to.

So Chris returns to Debbie and Band Boy Kent goes to do his merry thing (actually, he said he needed to pee, but that was a bit TMI for me to share here) and then KEVIN comes and grabs me and takes me to the dance floor and says, "Look, I need you to do me a favor. I can't talk to Debbie now for obvious reasons but would you tell her I really like her and want to take her out to dinner sometime and she should call me?" And I say sure and then he says, "Do you mind if I stay and dance with you for a while?" and I say sure again and then I gesture back over to Band Boy (who has returned) and I say, "I'm totally crushing on that blond guy over there" and Kevin thought I was gesturing at someone completely different and taps that someone completely different on the shoulder and starts to say something and I do the Jazz Hands of Mistaken Identity and say, "No, no, not him" so Kevin says never mind and we dance a bit more and he leaves.

So then Debbie and I are dancing and next thing I know, WHOMP!! Some woman has plastered herself up behind me and is all grinding on me and stuff. Huh? What da hell is going on here?

And then, WHOMP!! Some random man is all grinding in front of me. EEP!! How did this happen and how do I get out of it?

Well, it turns out the random man was the one that Kevin had tried to introduce me to and the woman was the woman he had been dancing with. Oh joy.

I finally disentangle myself from them only to have some adorable little boy from Georgia start dancing with me. I know he was from Georgia because he said to me, "Y'all dance different here" so I had to ask where he was from and he told me he had just moved here three days ago.

And then some OTHER guy in a Matrix type coat (only brown leather instead of black) is dancing on me and he was cute too.

And that's what's weird. I mean, I've gone out clubbing before and had all sorts of random menfolk coming up to me. But, they're usually...um...not the type of guy I go for.

But these guys? They were all hot, in one way or the other. Not that they were all the same "type" or anything. But they didn't have "Loser" tattooed on their foreheads either. (Oh man, that sounds so judgemental of me, doesn't it? I don't mean it to be, I mean, most of y'all know that I like all sorts. From beefy like Bobby to tall and gangly like GeekyBoy to the model perfection of H2 to...well, I've never described Chandler I guess, have I? Hm. Well, he's not tall like GB or super muscled like Bobby. He doesn't really run to any extreme. But there's something about him that I think is hot. I think it's in the way he carries himself. And he has that metro look I go for. And he has the most incredible lips. I love his lips. I miss nibbling on them. Sigh.)

Um. I digress.

No, so I'm not all judgemental or stuff and my standards aren't impossibly high or anything but I seem to attract the dregs, usually. But Friday night, I had the hotties. Go figure.

I think it must've been my new boots.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo