Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Finances, holidays, stuff
2005-11-25 ~ 3:11 p.m.

Okay, really, I couldn't be more bored if you paid me.

Oh wait, they are paying me. Nevermind.

I have been sitting at my desk for about two hours with no calls.

The plus side is that Adam was craving Chinese so I ordered from the place where my dad works and went to pick it up and Daddy had paid for it, my food AND Adam's.

I love my dad.

He also gave my brother $1200 in cash yesterday to cover November's rent. In return, my brother has signed over his soul....er, no, I mean, all future earnings.

See, Greg was supposed to pay the rent at the beginning of the month. I paid my share (which was fairly small since Greg had borrowed money from me LAST month which was supposed to come off of this month's rent). But then, for some reason, Greg's employer didn't pay him on time. He finally got paid on the 8th and said he would pay the rent, plus late fees, that day.

Flash forward to the 15th and I come home to find an eviction notice on our door. Because Greg never paid the rent. So I called him and he dropped off a check. This was last Thursday.

Then on Saturday, his car breaks down. He calls a tow and pays $200. Which means he doesn't have enough to cover the rent check.

A week's worth of fretting later and it looks like everything has been resolved. As of yesterday, the check had not been presented. Dad gave Greg the cash to get into the bank today to cover the check. Greg is going to be giving my father his entire paycheck, Dad will be paying his bills, which includes paying me to cover Greg's half of the rent and the utilities.

For the first time in months, I am finally breathing a little easier, vis a vis the whole sharing rent with my fiscally irresponsible brother thing.

Of course, now I'm stressing Christmas. I've been saying for months that I'm going to sell my comic books but I think I'm really going to take some time this weekend to inventory them and get a list to Keegan (the owner of the comic book shop I used to go to.) I know I can raise at least $200 that was, probably closer to $500.

Or maybe I should eBay instead. Hmmm. Gotta give this one some thought. I'll probably get more money from eBay but it will be more of a hassle.

Thanksgiving was pretty terrific for the most part. I really should start carrying a tape recorder with me to document some of the things the kids say. They crack me up but I can never remember later.

Little Susie Diva was a trip yesterday. My cousin Travis and his wife were there with their twin boys who are a little over a year. Susie was wearing tights and stepped in a puddle of baby milk. She got totally squicked out because her foot smelled funny. I told her she was being silly because her foot was all the way on the opposite side of her body from her nose. I told her to just stop smelling her foot and she'd be fine. But she insisted on taking off her tights.

And Ben? Oy. My poor little sugar sensitive boy somehow managed to drink an entire bottle of sparkling cider. He was literally bouncing off the walls, running up and down the hallways, driving people nuts. At one point I caught him running around, chortling, holding a scrap of blue paper behind his back. I wrestled the paper out of his grasp to find a post it, upon which he had written, "This is a post it." Why this was so amusing to him I have no idea. But I told my mom about Adam and the post its the other day (including how he stuck one to my forehead) and next thing I know, Ben is running around with a post it stuck to HIS forehead that said simply, "Ben." And then I see Susie with one on her back. And what do you think it said? "Kick me," of course.

So Lissa and I took the post it from Susie and stuck it on Ben's back. Then Lissa kicked him (I did not authorize the kicking, btw.) Then Ben stuck the post it to Lissa and kicked her.

At one point Ben was vibrating from sugar overload so badly I told him to just drop to the floor and wiggle until he got it out of his system. But instead he went back to hooting and hollering and running up and down the halls. Finally I cornered all three kids in the den and sat with my back to the door so there would be no escaping. I figured the adults needed a bit of peace and quiet and Dave didn't want me bringing them back for at least another hour.

So Lissa and I pinned Ben down and drew a smiley face on his stomach (using his belly button for a nose, of course.) That sent them all into fits of giggles. Then we tried to tape Ben's mouth shut with scotch tape (this was after he had scotch taped "Do Not Touch Me" to his forehead, a la a "Do Not Cross" police line)

Overall, we had lots of fun, even though Ben drove us all crazy.

There was a low point though. My mother announced she was about to call my grandmother and she would like us to speak with her. My brother flatly refused, saying he wouldn't talk to her unless she apologized. For what I'm not exactly sure, but I have some ideas. I certainly have issues with my grandparents but mine are more centered on my grandfather. Yes, my grandmother has said some awful things to us but it's all been under my grandfather's influence.

Anyway, I talked to her though and as I said, "I love you Grandma" I knew, I just knew I wouldn't be speaking with her again. See, she's been fighting cancer for two years and she's not winning. I think her time is almost here.

So as I said those words I started choking up and I had to leave the room and cry for a few minutes.

My grandmother has always loved me. No, us. Despite what my brother thinks. Now my grandfather, yes, he's mean and hateful and bigoted and narrow minded and I won't miss him or cry for him when he's gone.

But Grandma? She is what he made her. Mom says she was never like this before she married my grandfather (who isn't really my grandfather, they married when my mom was 18, I think)

Anyway, enough talking about them, I don't want to cry again.

Moving on to the best part of Thanksgiving? I did NOT overeat! w00t!!

(That's right, I said w00t. What'cha gonna do about it?)

Now I'm at work. And I am bored. And I will be leaving soon, oh yes, I will. Four and a half hours on the clock and I'm outta here, bay-beh, with no need for PTO. Booya!

I hope everyone had at least one terrific thing happen for Thanksgiving. Now, if you don't mind, I'm going to go hibernate until Spring.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo