Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Saturday, part one
2005-11-15 ~ 1:21 p.m.

Yes, I know it's Monday, and most likely will be Tuesday by the time I wrap this entry up, but Saturday was such a FUN FILLED and splediferous day that I had to let events cook for a few days before churning out this entry.

So, the plan was that Tea, Krumpet and Lillibet would take me out to dinner (to The Melting Pot!! SCORE!!!) for my birthday, then Tea would bow out (something about wolves chasing her) and Krumpet and Lillibet and I would head out for a night of dancing and carousing at Have a Nice Day Cafe.

So. I needed an outfit. An outfit appropriate for a fine dinner AND a night of dancing. I gathered up Inez and the kids and headed out to Kohl's. Because Inez works there and I planned to make use of her discount and her services as a personal shopper.

Hey! Don't look at me like that! I took her out for lunch afterwards.

So we gather up an armful of items and the girls and I take up a stall in the dressing room and I start trying things on and tossing them over the wall to Inez who runs off (with Ben in tow) to find more items and we finally find the perfect top, something I would have never picked out myself but it really is pretty, yo. All shimmery bronze-like.

And at one point, Inez made my day when she looked at me in this tank type thing with built in bra top and said, "Vicki, you have a figure like Dolly Parton's - tiny waist and huge boobs."

Hm. I certainly wouldn't call my waist tiny. And the boobs? Well, as I've said many times, I DO have a stupendous rack, but nowhere near Dolly Parton-esque am I.

But I'll accept her words as a compliment.

She also amused herself by introducing me to her coworkers by saying "This is my husband's ex wife." Heh. I love shocking people with that too. It was even better when we worked together.

So later, I swing by Lillibet's house to pick her up and we drive to The Melting Pot, where Krumpet nearly runs us over with her car (to her credit, she DID honk first for us to MOVE THE HELL OUT OF HER WAY, unlike Tea who didn't even give any advance warning before attemtping to mow Krumpet down)

So we enter the restaurant and OH DEAR LORD does it smell good in there. Mmmmmm. Of course we find out that since we don't have a reservation we'll have to wait until 9:45 for a table. The current time? 7:30.

So, we enter the Courtyard of Indecision and attempt to decide where to go instead. We consider the kabob place across the street but then we would have ended up in the Parking Lot of Seething Resentment. Which MAY eventually have led to the Parking Lot of Tentative Reconcilliation or could just have easily led to the Parking Lot of That's it, I'm Taking Half of Everyting.

Finally I said, "Guys, let's just hang out at the Mall until our table is ready"

And that is what we did, because I am the birthday girl, yo.

(Wait, have I already used my one allotted "yo" for this entry? I don't know, but I figure this is going to be a long one so I deserve two yos. Yo)

So we get to the Mall and we park and we start to cross the parking lot and there, looming over us and FOLLOWING us was something new, something we had never before seen, at least, not at THIS mall.

The Cheesecake Factory.

::cue heavenly choir::

There we stood, on the Sidewalk of Wavering and I was really REALLY tempted to ditch The Melting Pot in favor of a younger, newer, sexier model. But in the end, I stayed true to my love of all that is cheesy and melty. And not to mention chocolately.

(BTW - does anyone besides me remember chocolate cheese? Man, I loved that stuff when I was wee)

So we enter the Mall and not 30 seconds later we are accosted by a fellow Wilde Lake alumni. Who remembered us, although I don't think any of us remembered him. Ah well. We proceed on to the pet store where we are drawn in by the bunny display. We sit and we coo and we ooh and we ahh and we decide that we can't just have one bunny we must have a MULTITUDE of bunnies and Krumpet tries to point out one bunny in particular and we are being particularly dense and not seeing which one she is pointing to and she says, "No, not that one, THAT. ONE. THERE." and she punctuates those last three words with firm taps on the glass and then OH MY GOD, IT'S BUNNY PANDEMONIUM!!!!

All the bunnies, their little heads and ears stick straight up and they SCATTER because someone is POUNDING on the glass.

And poor Krumpet, she didn't MEAN to scare the wee little cute little bunnies. But then afterwards, after they all settled down, we tried to get her to do it again. Because, yes, poor little scared bunnies, but also? It was just damned funny.

But Krumpet is a good little animal loving Krumpet and refuses to scare the bunnies again.

Also at the pet store, we observe a stunning display of synchronized lizardry. I wish I�d had my camera because it was totally neato nifty peachy keen. Two lizards had plastered themselves against the wall of their little glass terrarium thing and they were posed in complete symmetry. Kewl.

Moving on, Krumpet and I wandered into Hot Topic, mostly to scare the hip happening teens and twenty-somethings by the presence of us totally unhip grownups. And also because it�s just a cool little shop. With lots o� Happy Bunny. I LURVE Happy Bunny. We will be revisiting the whole Happy Bunny love shortly, so stay tuned.

So we scamper on some more and end up at a sock kiosk and I THOUGHT I WAS IN HEAVEN, socks, socks, as far as the eye could see, but I decided I didn't actually like the socks they had there, because I have very strict sock criteria and none of them were quite right but I did find the CUTEST. THING. EVER.

SQUEEE!!!!

So yeah, of course a purchase was made.

And we skipped on along our merry way and our next stop was Sephora. Now, I did not KNOW we had a Sephora in our mall. And I have never been to Sephora before. So you KNOW I had to check it out. Krumpet and Lillbet took up residence on a bench while Tea and I went scampering off to check out all the pinky goodness.

I eventually had enough of the Sephora goodness because, although it was fun to look and play, I knew there was no way in hell I would purchase anything there. I just don�t see the point of spending that much money on a lipstick. So I plunk myself down on the bench between Krumpet and Lillibet and Lillibet decides that�s just a little bit too much closeness so she joins Tea in the den of all that is pink and scented.

Now Lillibet, like Krumpet, does not wear makeup. And yet, she was gone for HOURS. We feared that the great and fearsome Sephora monster had eaten her. (What? C�MON, doesn�t Sephora just SOUND like the name of a monster??)

But they come out and we want to go downstairs to check out Dry Ice because I love that store and they seem to be going out of business, boo hoo, but also yay because everything is ON SALE!!!

Except? We can�t figure out how to get downstairs. Muscle memory seems to have failed us. Folks, we GREW UP in this mall, we should know how to find everything and yet, there has been so much construction and renovation and BRAND NEW HALLWAYS that were never there before and our mall has just been morphing all over the place and we couldn�t find the durned escalator and we stood and spun around in circles and finally we made our way downstairs to the Dry Ice goodness.

And the first thing I see is a stack of tee shirts and I see one I MUST HAVE NOW but it�s one of those girly tees so it�s cut small but I grab an XL in the hopes that maybe, just maybe I can squeeze into it but I hold it up to myself and it�s just not happening.

So, disconsolate, I set the tee down and continue browsing until I get to the back of the store and see all the HAPPY BUNNY TEES and SQUEE SQUEE SQUEE I love love love Happy Bunny and I find one tee and I MUST have it because it said �It�s all about me. Deal with it� and c�mon, doesn�t that just say Vicki all over it, but alas, same thing, an XL still seems teeny but I decide I have to at least try so I approach the sales girl to ask whether they have a fitting room and I am told that no, they don�t.

::bites lip::

So I say to Tea, �Cover me.� And yes, I did, I took off my top in the middle of the store and tried that tee on. (Oh hush, it�s not as shocking as it sounds, I was wearing the aforementioned tank top with built in bra so all anyone really saw was a good amount of cleavage) AND IT FIT!!! Causing Krumpet to say, �Wow, you really do have a cute little figure.�

::beams::

So I ended up purchasing both tees and I am blissfully happy and we continue shopping and Krumpet purchases some bracelets for her daughter and a lava lamp too. And then it is time to head out for the Melting Pot and this is where I will end this entry for now. I�ll tell the tale of the cheese in a later entry.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo