Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Word confusion
2005-11-10 ~ 3:57 p.m.

Huh.

I've been using the word "smitten" quite a bit lately and I had an idea for an entry today which would have included the dictionary definition of the word but when I went to look it up (both online and in print) I found that it apparently does not mean what I thought it did.

See, I thought it meant something like infatuated, besotted, enamored, etc etc etc. But it's much more fun to say "smitten" than those other words.

C'mon, try it with me. "Smitten, smitten, smitten" Isn't that fun?

But, it seems I was mistaken. Smitten, according to all sources I checked, is defined as the past tense of smite. To, you know, strike with a hard blow. Or something.

Um? What?

So, to rectify this situation, I present to you the official Vicki definition of smitten.

No wait, I just got sidetracked. Ann started to read from the thesaurus and that seems much more in line with what I expected.

Of course, when I sputtered in amazement, "Hey, where did you find that?" since I had looked in several different places she said, "Man, your voice is shrill."

To which Stacy responded, "It sounds like Ann is getting annoyed with you Vicki."

And then she said what Ann really meant was, "God, the sound of your voice drives me crazy"

I think I'm going to start sulking now. My coworkers hate me.

Anyway, getting back to the topic at hand - according to the thesaurus, synonyms for "smitten" include: afflicted, beguiled, beset, bewitched, bowled over, burdened, captivated, charmed, enamored, infatuated, plagued, struck, troubled.

Okay, so maybe afflicted and burdened and most especially PLAGUED don't quite fit. Nor troubled, unless you consider that this whole smitten thing might just possibly keep one up at night, just a wee little bit.

But otherwise, right on.

So tell me, why do the dictionaries have something completely different? Including the dictionary in the very same book as this thesaurus. WHY WHY WHY?????

Oh, and on a related note: Last night? Very nice. Toe curling nice, matter of fact.

I used to read romance novels when I was in high school, much to my mother's chagrin. She said those books created false expectations and as I got older, I found I agreed with her to an extent. Those books painted a picture of electric chemisty that would hit you from head to toe. But I had never experienced that.

Until now. And that's all I'll say because I know he can read this and, well.....a girl's got to have SOME secrets, right?

Oh, and since I know he IS reading this let me just say, "You TOTALLY set me up."

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo