Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Wow, what a week
2005-10-02 ~ 7:20 p.m.

Sorry I've been MIA for so long. I've been...busy.

But all is well and I'm back now. I wish I had more weekend left. I have just about enough time to catch up on Friday's Days of our Lives and watch tonight's Desperate Housewives and do laundry and get to bed.

Sounds boring, eh? Well, after all the hustle and bustle and socializing of this past week, darn it, I deserve it.

Thursday was Chel's going away party. Some of you may have read about it before I decided to lock that entry. I decided it was just a bit too emotional, especially since I plan on emailing Chel some of the "Chelecdotes" I've collected here. I just didn't want him to stumble across that entry.

Anyway, to sum up, that party was difficult for me, just because I so suck and mixing and mingling. Add my previously acknowledged social anxiety to the fact that the party was populated with bigwigs (I was the lowest ranking employee there) and I could easily have spent the party standing in the corner, wringing my hands nervously. I forced myself to talk to a few people but I ended up leaving as early as I could without being noticable. I said a more private goodbye to Chel later.

Moving on to Friday....

Some of you may recall me writing about the Chocolate Ball fundraiser I went to earlier this year. Well, Joseph came to me again on Friday needing a last minute filler. The charity this time? Success in Style, an organization that helps disadvantaged women by providing them with business attire so that they can go on job interviews and find employment and no longer be disadvantaged. The theme? An Evening in Florence. Yep, Italian food, baby!! And open bar. The only problem? The event started at 6pm and I had to work Saturday from 9-6. Still wouldn't have been much of a problem except I had nothing to wear. But I figured out a way around that problem (see below)

Friday was also an interesting day for me when it comes to the boys I am crushing on, Adam and Chad. Not that anything has developed any further with Chad (although I do still think he's at least somewhat interested even if he doesn't want to date someone he works with, phooey), it's just that I'm starting to feel a little more comfortable talking to him. I (kiddingly) chastised him for eating french fries in the bay, saying "Don't you realize how many women in this row are watching their weight?" and then said "That's bad, Chad," amusing myself with my rhyme.

More amusingly though, Adam found my other diary. With, you know, stuff written about him. Crushy and gushy stuff. He was tickled pink. Seriously. His giggling reached an all time high.

Anyway, after that exciting work day was over it was time for happy hour. That was tons of fun. Not a lot of people from work showed up but that's okay. Debbie's friend Melissa was there and she was fun. There was a band playing, The Reagan Years, and they were AWESOME. As their name might lead you to expect, they were an 80's cover band. Anyone in the Baltimore or DC area who wants to get together to go see them sometime, feel free to drop me a line. (Oh, also, Krumpet and Debbie and I are going to Baja Beach Club Saturday night. Again, if you're in the Baltimore area and you want to meet up there, let me know) After dancing my fool ass off, I finally got home and nabbed a few hours sleep.

Which led to Saturday. Work and gala day. I curled my hair and did my makeup before going into work, and I packed up my heels and black strapless bra so that I could change into evening attire after work. I also brought my makeup.

On my lunch break, I had to find a dress. I literally RAN from store to store. Marshalls (which had NOTHING) to Ross, where the very first (and only) dress I tried on was PERFECT - and size FOURTEEN, yo. (I used to wear an 18 before I started dieting.) AND, it was only $40. I had been prepared to spend $90. Then to Wal Mart to get stocking and hair goo (because my 'do was falling so I needed to redo my hair.) Then back to work and I was PANTING. Told you I'd been running. Around 5pm I went to fluff my hair and bold-up my makeup and get changed and then I FLEW out the door at 5:45 and stopped at my mom's to borrow her wrap and I made it to the event by 6:15.

Whew.

Anyway, I had a good time there. Sat with Clarky, our PR director, and her husband, and with Joseph and his wife. I told both Joseph and Clarky that they needed to keep their eyes open for decent single men. I told Joseph it was the least he could do. That and secure me TWO tickets to next year's Chocolate Ball. (That's my new plan and DO NOT roll your eyes at me, Ann. I'm totally going to play it cool with Chad and just be friendly with him and IF next March comes around and I'm still single and he's still single and he's still with the company and we're friendly THEN I'm going to ask him to the ball with me and hopefully he'll be feeling more secure with the company and realize that we actually have a very relaxed attitude towards interoffice dating but until then I am not going to persue him AT ALL, I promise)

Anyway, home again, home again, bippity boo, and I got a few hours of sleep last night before Greg and I went out for a champagne brunch with Daddy. Again, fun AND yummy.

Then I spent the afternoon with the kids and now I'm home. Spent some time updating my OK Cupid! profile. If anyone is a member there (and you don't have to be looking for love to sign up there, they have all sorts of cool tests and stuff, lots of fun, y'all gotta go check out which Muppet character I am....LOVE it)...um....where was I?

Oh yeah, if you're a member there, look me up, I'm vickithecute over there too, and add me as a friend because you can never have too many friends. Yo.

It also occured to me just now (well, not just this moment, actually a few paragraphs ago when I made mention of this morning's champagne brunch) that I consumed more alcohol this weekend than I have in probably ten years. Or more.

Sheesh.

Okay, I'm off to TV land. And then sleep. Sleep is good.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo