Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Poor Rob
2005-08-18 ~ 11:18 p.m.

So, I went over to Rob's desk this afternoon to discuss a few things with him. He played his "Oh, I'm much too busy and important to talk to you" game so I, like I often do when he does this, grabbed his chair, intending to wheel him away from his desk and force him to talk to me.

Sadly (for Rob, at least) he was actually perched on the edge of his chair at that moment so as I wheeled the chair away, he crashed to the ground, dragging half his desk (along with the contents of his cup of ice water) down and all around him.

Okay, so first I felt incredibly guilty and apologetic and then, after making sure he was okay and helping to restore order to his desk, I couldn't stop laughing. Because Rob is incredibly clumsy. And yet again, he was soaked in ice water. But for once, it wasn't his fault.

Of course, I didn't tell anyone that. As we walked the hall to the cafeteria (so he could get more ice water and so I could bend his ear about the account I was working on) he got many stares, some curious, some knowing. I just pointed and laughed.

I did end up going to a weigh in today. I've lost another 2 pounds. So I celebrated by ordering Chinese food tonight. I had a full serving of spareribs (8 points) and Orange Chicken. I only ate a few bites of the chicken so I'm figuring maybe 5 points? So I actually only dipped into my flex points by 3, which ain't bad in my book.

Big news about Inez's battle with her mother for custody of her son. As mentioned earlier, Dave and Inez got married yesterday. (And yes, for those of you wondering, I do feel somewhat wistful over that. Not sad or jealous or anything like that. Just....I dunno. Maybe because their marriage really closes the book on that chapter of my life? Or something)

Anyway, so they got married and now, Inez's mother has decided that she wants to go to mediation instead of going to trial. Inez's lawyer has agreed to this. This is good because the judge in the case was totally NOT impartial (if you recall, he ruled against Inez last time (without even letting her testify) because she came to get John from "his town" on the Sabbath.) But the mediator is going to be someone both lawyers agree on. AND, if they can't come to terms (and Inez plans to be very firm on what she wants) then the case goes to court. And by that time, John will be old enough to testify. And all of the lies that Inez's mother has told will come out. The stories she told John about how he didn't have a mother. And stuff like that.

The bad part is that they have to wait until October for the mediation. John is frustrated and making life hell for his grandmother. I do feel bad for John but Lord knows his grandmother is now reaping what she sowed.

So that's that. Just got to get through one more day of work until the weekend. Wish me luck. Tomorrow is the last day of the week and I am on target to make a bonus for the first time since getting back on the phones. It's not a shoo in though so I could use some good wishes.

Although, I'd be a lot more certain if our systems hadn't gone down today. I had a woman on the phone with her email up and ready to go but I couldn't send her our docs. It was incredibly frustrating but my new manager, Ricky, gave us the pep talk about how complaining wasn't going to help and we just need to take the calls and go as far as we could and tell the customer we'd follow up tomorrow. I was fine with the second part of his statement but the whole "stop complaining" thing? It wasn't that long ago (6-7 months?) that Ricky was on the phone and I said as much to him. "You know darned good and well that if you were still on the phones you'd be complaining too". Adam laughed but Ricky got ever so slightly huffy. Because he knows I'm right.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo