Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

D'Oh!
2005-08-05 ~ 10:01 a.m.

So, over the past few years, I've been hearing this phrase "Mr Meaner" in various rap/hip-hop songs and not having the faintest clue what it meant.

At first, it was just in "Lady Marmalade" - I figured it was a character in Moulin Rouge. Then I heard it in "1,2 Step" and finally in "Lose Control". And I thought to myself, "Self, what all these songs have in common is Missy Elliot"

And finally, last night, driving home from work, it totally clicked and I smacked myself in the forehead.

They're not saying Mr Meaner, are they?

Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliot.

Yep, I get it now. I'm just a leeeetle bit slow sometimes.

And since I am, in some small way, discussing rap and hip hop, let me now segue into a brief discussion of how NASTY some of those songs have gotten. I mean, not nasty in a fun way like with "Short Dick Man" or "Ass Like That" I mean just plain ol' raunchy.

Of course, I didn't know how raunchy they were because they're so well edited on the radio with entirely different sets of lyrics and stuff. But when I first heard the unedited version of "Wait (The Whisper Song)"? Holy cow, now I'm no prude but that really made me blush. Yeeks. I'll stick with the radio versions, please.

Which brings me to Radio Disney. I listen to this station a lot. I'd like to say it's mostly when I have the kids in the car but sadly, that's not true. I mean, I do listen to it with the kids, but I find myself listening without the kids. Mostly because it cracks me up to hear some of the alternative song lyrics they use.

For example, their version of the first verse of "1985"

Debbie just hit the wall
she never had it all
one workout a day
husband's a CPA
her dreams went out the door
when she turned twenty four
loved only one man
what happened to her plan?

Same artist, different lyrics.

(Interesting note, I just discovered that song was originally done by SR-71. I'll have to go looking for that.

Anyway, the other reason I like Disney Radio is they just play such gosh darned FUN music. I'm currently hooked on the Axel F remix with the Crazy Frog. And The Hamster Dance. Which cracked the kids up the first time they heard it.

Although I think it might be time for me to return to listening to alt-rock for a while. I feel my mind turning to bubblegum with all this pop. Or is it turning to pop with all this bubblegum.

Mmmm.....Pop, with fizzy goodness, carbonating around in my cranium.

Right, that's it, time to get ready for work. Today is Tina's last day and I am very sad. She is my fashion and beauty advisor. She actually gave me some tips last night on what to do with my hair during this awkward "growing out" phase and I tried them last night with great success. Of course, I know I won't be able to recreate it this morning but I'll give it a shot.

::wanders off, humming the Crazy Frog ringtone::

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo