Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Susie's birthday
2005-07-30 ~ 12:49 p.m.

Okay, how did this happen?

For years, my kids have been getting shortchanged on the birthday front. Neither Dave nor I have been able to throw them a decent birthday party. Lissa didn't get it as bad as the others - I took her to see Cats for her 9th birthday and we went to King's Dominion this year for her 10th birthday. But the kids haven't had an actual PARTY since....well, probably since Susie was a year old.

So I decided the other day (since I was going to have the kids this weekend anyway) to ask Greg whether he wanted to have his kids over and we'd have cake and ice cream to celebrate Susie's fifth birthday. Somehow, that small, fairly impromptu celebration has mushroomed to include Greg's ex wife and her nephew, my parents and Auntie De, and Dave, Inez and John. (As well and me and mine and Greg and his)

I just came back from the grocery store where I spent pretty much all my food money for party stuff. No, seriously, I'm going to have to borrow bucks from Daddy just to feed myself and my vehicle until payday.

It's not just that though. Now I feel bad for the people I DIDN'T include. If I'd known this was going to develop into a full fledged party I would have invited K and her husband and daughter and Susie's friends from daycare. (She's actually been out of daycare for a few months but she still goes over there to play sometimes)

I want to promise that I'll have a real party for Ben this year and I certainly intend to - but he always seems to get overlooked in the hustle and bustle of the holidays (his birthday is December 16th)

I definitely see why a lot of people choose to have their parties done at a party venue because it takes so much less effort. But oh the cost! I did that once for Lissa, when she was five I think. That party must have cost us $300. (Ha. Kinda puts my bitching about the $60 I just spent into perspective)

In much happier news, it looks like Bobby is finally going to be able to visit me here in Maryland again. Not sure exactly when, probably the end of August. He hasn't been here in over two years, and he's never met my children or my parents. So I'm thrilled although admittedly a little anxious about introducing him to the kids and the folks. Particularly Melissa and my aunt.

Actually, I may choose not to introduce him to my aunt at all. I know he won't like her given how she made me miserable when I was living her and I doubt she will like him given how miserable he made me once upon a time very long ago. My aunt DEFINITELY knows how to hold a grudge. Not that it matters to me what she thinks of him, but she has a lot of influence over my mother and I want my mom to get to know Bobby WITHOUT my aunt's interference.

As for Lissa? I know how much she wants Dave and I to get back together and as much as we tell her it's not going to happen? Well, it doesn't stop her from wishing for it. And I fear that she might hold some resentment towards Bobby, might blame him for the fact that Dave and I aren't together. I've talked to her about it, in a very low key way, and she seems to want to meet him and she doesn't seem to harbor any animosity towards him...but Lissa is a very difficult child to read.

Oh well, time will tell.

And speaking of time, it's time for me to go get Susie into her party dress. It's actually her dress from Thanksgiving but she wanted to wear it again. It's so beautiful I told her okay, even though it's totally seasonally inappropriate. Watch for pictures coming soon.

Toodles!

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo