Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Crabs! And Brad Pitt!!
2005-07-20 ~ 1:40 p.m.

Starting over.

This entry will not suck.

So, driving down the highway Friday night I saw a huge banner across this little pub type place screaming �ALL YOU CAN EAT CRABS $24.99�.

I practically stopped dead in the middle of the road. Do you know how long it�s been since I�ve seen all you can eat crabs? Used to be restaurants around here offered them all the time but that was a long time ago. It became �impractical� to do so because crabs were just so expensive and so many people wanted them and the restaurants were losing money.

T and I used to go to this one place every summer, The Windsor Inn, for their all you can eat crabs. And every year, we wondered why we kept coming back. The parking lot STUNK (as you can imagine a parking lot with a dumpster filled full of crab shells in the middle of the summer would stink), the door greeter was surly, the salad bar and ice cream bar were usually completely depleted, but the crabs�.oh the crabs were SO good.

But then, they started �running out� of the all you can eat crabs. We could still order crabs by the dozen but they were usually small and overpriced. Eventually, we stopped going.

So my delight when I saw this sign was boundless. I immediately called T and left her a message. Then I decided that Melissa needed to experience crabs. I knew I owed her a special dinner. I had been planning to take her to The Melting Pot for fondue but realized crabs would be even better because I wouldn�t have to contend with �I wanna go too!� from Susie and Ben. Being the avowed picky eaters that they are, they would never want to go anywhere near a crab.

And sure enough:
Me: �Hey guys, do you like crabs?�
Ben, quickly AND instantaneously: �Ew, NO!�
Lissa, clapping her hands happily: �Yum!�
Susie, making crab hands: �No, because they pinch you�

RESULT!!

I figured if T called me back then the three of us could go, but as it turns out, she wasn�t free so we�re going to try to go next month if they�re still offering them.

So Lissa and I went for crabs and I had to teach her how to open them and clean them out but she took to it like�.well, like a crab to water.

And they gave us buffalo wings too. And salad. And corn on the cob. But of course, that was all a ploy to fill us up so we wouldn�t eat too many crabs. But ha to them cus it didn�t work.

And the crabs were so very good. I love living in Maryland.

(Irrelevant side note: I just typo�d �box� for �cob.� Where did THAT come from????)

I have a picture on my camera at home I still need to upload. Because, see, the TLK and I watched Oceans 12 Saturday night, which was a very pretty movie (if you know what I mean) and we somehow freeze-framed on Brad Pitt making a scrunchy face and I snapped a pic of it and promised T that I would post it so I must do so post haste but of course it is now Wednesday and I still haven�t posted it so I�m not do too well at the post haste thing, am I?

Right. Back to work. Blergh.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo