Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Mixed emotions
2005-06-21 ~ 8:58 p.m.

Okay, first, before I get to what's really on my mind, I want to address a few of yesterday's comments. Guys, K is my co-very-best-friend-in-the-whole-wide-world. I may tell anecdotes about her and exaggerate things for comedic effect but I love her dearly and would never ever complain for real about her to anyone except her.

I just wanted to clear up any misconceptions that I actually hold any animosity towards her. She one of my favorite people ever.

So, moving on.

I got the sales job I applied for. I'll skip the actual job title (because it's hokey) and just call myself a Financial Counselor because it makes more sense than Financial Fitness Coach. Also because I'm afraid one of these days I'll call myself a Financial Fitness Couch and start digging into all my recesses looking for spare change.

Um. Ew.

Anyway, they totally put me through the ringer (wringer?) throughout this process. Two tough interviews (although thankfully the threatened interview with the company president and the CEO never materialized) and two very tough series of tests.

Now, I've taken LOTS of assessment tests during my tenure with this company and I am used to simply breezing through them. I'm going to brag on myself for a minute just to give my next comments some perspective. The last time I tested I did so with the rest of my department - including Chel, who, I've mentioned, got his BA from Yale and his MBA from Harvard. He's one of the most intelligent people I know. At any rate, I took these tests and on three of the five tests I either scored the same or higher than Chel and I completed the tests more quickly than he did.

I point this out to demonstrate that I just have a uncanny ability to test well.

::shrugs::

Dunno why, but I'm not complaining.

Anyway, these tests? Amazingly hard. Algebraic equations, some with squares and cubes or negative numbers, and some with squares AND negative numbers in the same freaking equation. Amazingly enough, I remembered that if you square a negative number you get a positive.

The verbal test was also much more challenging that your typical black:white::open:______. But I had no problems with it because I am a JEEN-YESS.

But those math tests floored me so much that I just gave up and started guessing on a few of the questions. Although I was told later that I actually did quite well. So yay me!

Anyway, I ran the guantlet and got the job. I start Monday which has me kinda freaked because it means I need to finish up my existing projects and get Sandra trained by the end of this week. But at least I can get some OT this weekend.

I'm looking forward to this change but I'm also scared. It's been a while since I've been on the phone and I'm so afraid I'm making the wrong decision. I mean, yes, it's more money now and MUCH more money as my portfolio grows - but it FEELS like a step back. I'm going from an administrative position BACK to a phone slave job. And holy hell, the sales pressure! I'm back to the whole, "If you don't hit your numbers you're outta here" mentality.

BUT - I like the direction the company is going. After a long stretch of low morale, I'm feeling a lot of positive energy coming from the sales department and I want to be part of that. Besides, I'm good at sales, damnit! (Heck, I've been good at just about everything I've done except waitressing. I was an AWFUL waitress.)

Of course, Attorney Leza is mad at me. Well, no, not mad. But she doesn't want me to go. I told her I can train Sandra to do just as good a job as I did, but she's skeptical. There is buzz that she may go to the president of the company (who made the final decision to bring me over to the Fitness Center) to sway him, but I don't think she would really do that to me.

It is nice to be fought over though.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo