Navigate

current entry
entry archive
private entries
Contact
profile
email me
notes
need the password?
Thanks
host
design

Take a deep breath, Vicki
2005-05-17 ~ 8:45 p.m.

Can someone please tell me exactly what a "holla back girl" is and why Gwen Stefani is not one?

And as long as we're somewhat on the subject, what is "emo"? Examples, please? Is it that whiny Blink 182 and Hoobastank and Simple Plan crap? Whine whine whine. Oh spare me.

Heh....and thus begins today's whinefest.

First, pictures from the birthday party I went to this weekend - my friend K's daughter turned 7 and her husband turned....um....older than 7.

Anyway, she had a pinata. And 17 kids. The pinata burst as pinatas are wont to do and the children swarmed, as children are wont to do, especially when there is candy involved.

000_0710

My girls were adorable in their little bikinis

000_0696

And my boy was adorable in his little fur lined hat

000_0706

But all the excitement (swimming, pinata bashing, hat making, cute being) wore poor little Susie-Cute out.

000_0715

Later, I went back for the adult party for Husband Jon. Um....hm..."adult party" doesn't sound good, does it? Sounds like should be a "boom chaka chakka" soundtrack running. So let me rephrase that and state that I returned for the gathering of the grownups. That was much fun, although I somehow ended up buying a VERY expensive bottle of vodka.

I swear, I had every intention of just buying my $3.99 bottle of Arbor Mist (Blackberry Merlot...yummmm) but I was craving a chocolate martini and I was wondering whether one could purchase a premade single serving chocolate martini. I know they have other single serving cocktails available. So, I asked Liquor Store Guy whether they had any chocolate martinis in a bottle and he said "Sure!" and led me to a bottle of chocolate vodka. I explained that no, I didn't want just the vodka, I wanted the chocolate martini premade and he assured me that all a chocolate martini is is vodka and chocolate and EVEN THOUGH I KNEW BETTER I took the vodka anyway and brought it up to the register and nearly had a heart attack when I saw the price but stupid spineless weak me was too much of a wimp to say, "Oh no, thank you very much but that's more than I wanted to spend" so I BOUGHT the damn thing and I chilled it when I got to Karen's and sure enough when I drank it it tasted like straight f'n vodka with chocolate NOT like a smooth as silk chocolate martini like I got at The Melting Pot but you can bet your sweet bippy that Sunday night at home with my Creme de Cacao I made myself an honest to goodness kick ass martini that was MUCH better than the ones I had made previously with the bottle of Smirnoff that Auntie De finished off last week.

So. Moving on. Fun with Lissa.

She�s been having stomach pains for the past week and they�ve been getting worse. Inez took her to the doctor on Thursday but they couldn�t find anything wrong with her. Last night she was in pain again and I thought it might be her appendix and I told Inez to take her to the doctor again. Inez sent her to school today with the intention of picking her up and taking her to the doctor later, once she got an appointment, but she couldn�t get through and then Lissa went to the health room and the nurse called Inez and Inez picked her up and since she couldn�t get her into the doctor she took her to the ER.

Of course, nobody bothered to tell me. I called the house yesterday morning, thinking Inez had taken her to the doctor and wanting to get an update. There was no answer at the house so I called the doctor's office and they told me that she didn't have an appointment today. So I called the school to see whether Lissa had even made it in. They put me through to the school nurse and SHE was the one who told me where my child was.

Actually, she didn't even do that. She told me Inez had taken her to the ER and she THOUGHT they had gone to Northwest Hospital but she wasn't sure. So I called Northwest and after being bounced around a bit I finally located my child and I got to speak with her and then Inez and Inez gave me the directions bcs Lord knows I wasn't about to let my daughter go through this without ONE of her parents there and Dave is working at NSA right now so he's unreachable by cell.

So yeah, just to give you an idea of my frazzled state, these are the directions exactly as I wrote them down from Inez.

Anyway, they ran a lot of tests on her and she had a thorough physical and they can�t find anything wrong with her. It might be stress, it might be a stomach bug, it might be lactose intolerance, who knows? I'm leaning towards stress just bcs she was doing fine this morning until 30 seconds before I dropped her off at school when she complained that her stomach hurt again. I have a call in to her teacher to find out what's going on at school that could be making her so stressed that she's making herself ill.

Oh! And I finally jumped on the myspace bandwagon. Find me here and feel free to friend me. No really....PLEASE friend me. I'm begging you!

Anyhow, I'm outta here for a few days, maybe longer. I'm leaving tomorrow night after work to visit with Bobby. I'll be back Sunday night but then I have to frantically start packing because I AM FINALLY MOVING OUT OF THIS HOLE!!!!!!

When I return, I will restart the 80's trivia thingy, I promise.

|

before || after
Something random

Moved! - 2010-10-27
Savory Sour Cream and Chive Waffles - 2009-01-03
This kind of thing can only happen when you work virtually - 2008-10-19
It's 8am and I am awake....and writing - 2008-10-17
Ooh fancy! - 2008-10-15

Extras
Widget_logo
Widget_logo
Widget_logo